Former U.S. Ambassador Don Beyer is Honorary Host Committee Co-Chair for the Appalachian Trail Conservancy's Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala

Date Published: Jan 28, 2014

Washington, D.C. (January 28, 2014) – The Honorable Donald S. Beyer Jr. will serve as co-chair of the Honorary Host Committee for the Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s (ATC) 5th Annual Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala on Tuesday, May 20, 2014 in Washington, D.C. Beyer, a Virginia business and community leader, is an avid Appalachian Trail (A.T.) hiker and advocate for the protection and preservation of the Trail.

“I am delighted to be able to help celebrate the rich role the Appalachian Trail plays in American life,” Beyer said. “Section-hiking the Appalachian Trail has been the epic adventure of my own.”

Beyer is the immediate past U.S. ambassador to Switzerland and Liechtenstein. He also served as lieutenant governor of Virginia for eight years and led the Department of Commerce transition team in 2008. Beyer has spent most of his adult life building a profitable and community-based collection of retail automobile dealerships, including nine franchises and four manufacturers: Volvo, Land Rover, Subaru, Volkswagen and Kia. The Beyer business brand is one of the best known retail automobile names in the nation, and Don has served at the highest levels in the industry, including as chairman of the American International Automobile Dealers Association and chairman of the National Volvo Dealer Council.

“Over the past few decades the Appalachian Trail Conservancy and countless partners have worked hard to protect the Appalachian Trail and enhance its enjoyment by hikers. This would not be possible without the dedication and cooperation of such leaders as Don Beyer,” said Ron Tipton, executive director of the ATC. “The Conservancy is excited to have Beyer serve as co-chair of the Honorary Host Committee for the Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala.”

In addition to Beyer, Terry Lierman, a member of the ATC board of directors, will also serve as co-chair of the Honorary Host Committee. Brent Thompson, of Expedia Inc., is also a member of the committee.  

The ATC’s Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala will recognize Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell, Sen. Richard Burr from North Carolina and Congressman David Price, also from North Carolina, for their commitment to the A.T.

Event overview:
Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s 5th Annual Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala
Date: Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Time: 6 p.m. Reception | 7 p.m. Awards and Dinner
Location: Roof Terrace | 101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C.
Tickets: $250 per person or table sponsorship opportunities available

The event is sponsored by Expedia Inc. All proceeds will benefit the ATC.

For more information about the 5th Annual Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala, or to learn about sponsorship opportunities, call Amy McCormick at 304.535.2200 ext. 123 or email [email protected]

About the Appalachian Trail Conservancy
The ATC was founded in 1925 by volunteers and federal officials working to build a continuous footpath along the Appalachian Mountains. A unit of the National Park Service, the A.T. ranges from Maine to Georgia and is approximately 2,185 miles in length. It is the longest hiking-only footpath in the world. The mission of the ATC is to preserve and manage the Appalachian Trail – ensuring that its vast natural beauty and priceless cultural heritage can be shared and enjoyed today, tomorrow, and for centuries to come. For more information, please visit

Contact: Javier Folgar                                                                    
Appalachian Trail Conservancy
Tel: 304.535.2200 x117
Fax: 304.535.2667
Email: [email protected]

Leave a comment