John Delaney Of Maryland Sponsors Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s Leaders In Conservation Awards Gala

Date Published: May 10, 2013

Washington, DC (May 10, 2013) – Congressman John Delaney of Maryland’s 6th district is sponsoring the Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s (ATC) fourth-annual Awards Gala in Washington, DC on May 15, 2013. Delaney is a strong advocate to the protection and preservation of the environment and its natural resources, including the Appalachian Trail (A.T.).

In Maryland, Delaney works to ensure that federal funding is allocated to regional and local efforts to protect resources like the A.T., the Chesapeake Bay, and the C&O Canal. Not only are these resources enjoyed by local residents and visitors, but they also provide jobs for communities across the state.

“I am glad to support the Appalachian Trail Conservancy and the work they do to preserve and protect the Appalachian Trail in my district and 26 other congressional districts from Maine to Georgia,” stated Delaney.

The A.T. in Maryland follows a forty-mile route along the backbone of South Mountain, a north-south ridge that extends from Pennsylvania to the Potomac River. There are many scenic views and convenient access from nearby towns and highways.

The ATC’s Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala will recognize Senator Susan Collins of Maine, Senator Mark Udall of Colorado, L.L.Bean, and Pamela Underhill, retired Superintendent of the Appalachian National Scenic Trail, for their long history of protecting America’s parks and landscapes. Awards will be presented by Jim Cantore, the Weather Channel’s Meteorologist and Storm Tracker. All proceeds will benefit the ATC.

“Over the past few decades the Appalachian Trail Conservancy, along with countless agencies and partners, have worked hard to protect the Appalachian Trail. This would not be possible without the dedication and cooperation of such leaders as Senator Udall, Senator Collins, L.L.Bean, and Pam Underhill,” stated Mark Wenger, Executive Director/CEO of the ATC.

Congresswoman Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia and Congressman Jim Moran of Virginia will serve as Honorary Co-Chairs for this event. Terry L. Lierman and Goodloe E. Byron Jr. will serve as Co-Chairs of the Host Committee.

Christian Asam from the Bavarian Inn, Brooks Brunson from Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck LLP, Mark Johnson from Toyota Motor North America Inc., Sam Lancaster from Comcast Inc., and Brent Thompson from Expedia Inc. will serve as the Honorary Committee.

The ATC was founded in 1925 by volunteers and federal officials working to build a continuous footpath along the Appalachian Mountains. The A.T. is a unit of the National Park System, ranging from Maine to Georgia, at approximately 2,185 miles in length. It is the longest hiking-only footpath in the world.

Event Overview:
Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala
Date: Wednesday, May 15, 2013
Time: 6:00pm Reception | 7:00pm Awards and Dinner
Tickets: $250 per person or table sponsorship opportunities available
Location: Roof Terrace | 101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

In addition to Congressman John Delaney, this event is sponsored by the Bavarian Inn, ENO, Expedia Inc., Honeywell, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, L.L.Bean, Patton Boggs LLP, PDQ, Studio 20, Summit Global Ventures, Toyota North America Inc., and Walmart.

For more information about this event visit For sponsorship opportunities or to reserve your seat, contact Amy McCormick at 304-535-2200 ext.123 or by [email protected]

About the Appalachian Trail Conservancy
The Appalachian Trail Conservancy mission is to preserve and manage the Appalachian Trail – ensuring that its vast natural beauty and priceless cultural heritage can be shared and enjoyed today, tomorrow, and for centuries to come. For more information please visit

Contact: Javier Folgar                                            
Appalachian Trail Conservancy
Tel: 304.535.2200 x117 
Fax: 304.535.2667
Email: [email protected] 

Leave a comment