The Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s Fourth Annual Leaders In Conservation Awards Gala

Date Published: Apr 08, 2013

Washington, DC (April 05, 2013) – The Appalachian Trail Conservancy (ATC) will recognize leaders in conservation during their fourth-annual Awards Gala in Washington, DC on May 15, 2013. This year’s honorees include Senator Susan Collins of Maine, Senator Mark Udall of Colorado, and Pamela Underhill, retired Superintendent of the Appalachian National Scenic Trail. Awards will be presented by Jim Cantore, the Weather Channel’s Meteorologist and Storm Tracker. All proceeds will benefit the ATC.

Senator Collins and Senator Udall have been nominated to receive the ATC’s Congressional Leadership Award. Senator Collins is being honored for her long history of supporting efforts to protect and preserve America’s parks, greenways, and forests, particularly her efforts on behalf of the Appalachian Trail (A.T.). Through her support of the Forest Legacy Program and the Land and Water Conservation Fund, nearly 1 million acres have been protected in Maine alone.

Senator Udall is being honored for spearheading numerous programs and legislative initiatives designed to protect our precious landscapes across the United States. He has been a great friend to the A.T. through his ardent support of the Land and Water Conservation Fund, National Park Service (NPS), and the U.S. Forest Service.

Underhill is being honored with the Vanguard Award for her work with the NPS. She served as a federal employee for 37 years before retiring in 2012. Thirty-three of those years were spent at the Appalachian National Scenic Trail Park Office. As the A.T. Superintendent, Underhill oversaw the effort to put the A.T. on public lands. Hundreds of land tracts were acquired to protect the A.T. footpath under her leadership leaving a lasting legacy of land conservation and a cooperative management system that will steward the lands acquired for generations to come.

“Over the past few decades the Appalachian Trail Conservancy, along with countless agencies and partners, have worked hard to protect the Appalachian Trail. This would not be possible without the dedication and cooperation of such leaders as Senator Udall, Senator Collins, and Pam Underhill,” stated Mark Wenger, Executive Director/CEO of the ATC.

Congresswoman Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia and Congressman Jim Moran of Virginia will serve as Honorary Co-Chairs for this event. Terry L. Lierman and Goodloe E. Byron Jr. will serve as Co-Chairs of the Host Committee.

Christian Asam from the Bavarian Inn, Brooks Brunson from Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck LLP, Mark Johnson from Toyota Motor North America Inc., Sam Lancaster from Comcast Inc., and Brent Thompson from Expedia Inc. will serve as the Honorary Committee.

The ATC was founded in 1925 by volunteers and federal officials working to build a continuous footpath along the Appalachian Mountains. The A.T. is a unit of the National Park System, ranging from Maine to Georgia, at approximately 2,185 miles in length. It is the longest hiking-only footpath in the world.

Event Overview:
Appalachian Trail Conservancy’s Leaders in Conservation Awards Gala
Date: Wednesday, May 15, 2013
Time: 6:00pm Reception | 7:00pm Awards and Dinner
Tickets: $250 per person or table sponsorship opportunities available
Location: Roof Terrace | 101 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

This event is sponsored by the Bavarian Inn, ENO, Expedia Inc., Patton Boggs LLP, Summit Global Ventures, Toyota North America Inc., and Walmart.

For more information about this event visit For sponsorship opportunities or to reserve your seat, contact Amy McCormick at 304-535-2200 ext.123 or by [email protected]org.

About the Appalachian Trail Conservancy
The Appalachian Trail Conservancy mission is to preserve and manage the Appalachian Trail – ensuring that its vast natural beauty and priceless cultural heritage can be shared and enjoyed today, tomorrow, and for centuries to come. For more information please visit

Contact: Javier Folgar                                                    
Appalachian Trail Conservancy
Tel: 304.535.2200 x117  
Fax: 304.535.2667
Email: [email protected] 

Leave a comment