Slide background

Regional Partnerships

trail clubs and a.t. communities

​regional partnership committees

There are four regional partnership committees (RPCs) corresponding to the ATC’s four geographical regions. Generally, the RPC includes one primary and one alternate representative from each of the Appalachian Trail-maintaining clubs in the region.

The RPC's serve as communication links between the Trail-maintaining clubs, the ATC, and agency partners and as advisors to the ATC regional directors and the stewardship council on Trail management issues and policies. RPCs do not create ATC policy, but provide forums for discussion and review and make recommendations on proposed policies.

The Trail clubs select their RPC representatives, and the chair of each RPC is selected by its members. At least one member from each RPC is appointed by the ATC board of directors to serve on the stewardship council. 

Each regional partnership committee is self-governing within parameters set by the board. The current makeup of the committees and the club affiliation of RPC members are listed below. 

New England Committee

  • RPC Chair: Dave Boone, AMC-Connecticut Chapter (Primary)
  • RPC Representative to Stewardship Council: Cosmo Catalano, AMC-Berkshire Chapter
  • Don Stack, Maine Appalachian Trail Club (Primary)
  • Tony Barrett, Maine Appalachian Trail Club (Alternate)
  • Ryan Smith, Randolph Mountain Club (Primary)
  • Mike Micucci, Randolph Mountain Club (Alternate)
  • Sally Manikian, Appalachian Mountain Club (Primary)
  • Andrew Norkin, Appalachian Mountain Club (Alternate)
  • Rory Gawler, Dartmouth Outing Club (Primary)
  • Dave Hardy, Green Mountain Club (Primary)
  • Steve Crowe, Green Mountain Club (Alternate)
  • Jim Pelletier, AMC-Berkshire Chapter (Primary)
  • Steve Smith, AMC-Berkshire Chapter (Alternate)
  • Henry Edmonds, AMC-Connecticut Chapter (Alternate)

Mid-Atlantic Committee

  • RPC Chair: Ron Rosen; New York-New Jersey Trail Conference (Primary)
  • RPC Vice Chair: Anne Griffin, Allentown Hiking Club (Primary)   
  • RPC Secretary and Representative to the Stewardship Council: Susan Charkes; Batona Hiking Club (Primary)
  • RPC Representative to Stewardship Council: Gail Neffinger (New York-New Jersey Trail Conference)
  • Walt Daniels, New York-New Jersey Trail Conference (Alternate) 
  • Jan King, Wilmington Trail Club (Primary) 
  • Tom Wheatley, Wilmington Trail Club (Alternate) 
  • Mike Hughes, Batona Hiking Club (Alternate) 
  • Dan Schwartz, AMC-Delaware Valley Chapter (Primary) 
  • Bill Steinmetz, AMC-Delaware Valley Chapter (Alternate) 
  • Paul Schubert, Philadelphia Trail Club (Primary) 
  • David Scheid, Philadelphia Trail Club (Alternate) 
  • Scott Birchman, Blue Mountain Eagle Climbing Club (Primary)
  • David Reitz, Blue Mountain Eagle Climbing Club (Alternate)
  • Barb Wiemann, Allentown Hiking Club (Alternate)
  • Phil Day; Susquehanna Appalachian Trail Club (Primary)
  • Cindy Radich, Susquehanna Appalachian Trail Club (Alternate) 
  • Tom Morley, York Hiking Club (Representative)  
  • Gwen Loose, York Hiking Club (Alternate)
  • Michael O'Conner, Mountain Club of Maryland (Representative)  
  • Ann Roberts, Mountain Club of Maryland (Alternate) 
  • Kevin Shannon, Cumberland Valley Appalachian Trail Club (Primary)  
  • Christine Lauriello, Cumberland Valley Appalachian Trail Club (Alternate) 
  • Pete Brown, Potomac Appalachian Trail Club (Primary)  
  • Rush Williamson, Potomac Appalachian Trail Club (Alternate)

Central and Southwest Virginia Committee

  • RPC Chair and Representative to Stewardship Council: Trudy Phillips, Natural Bridge A.T. Club (Alternate)
  • RPC Vice Chair: Ned Kuhns; Tidewater A.T. Club (Alternate)
  • Phyllis Neumann, Tidewater A.T. Club (Primary) 
  • Theresa Duffey, Old Dominion A.T. Club (Primary) 
  • Mark Heede, Old Dominion A.T. Club (Alternate) 
  • Mike Rieley, Natural Bridge A.T. Club (Primary) 
  • Mervin Browser, Roanoke A.T. Club (Primary) 
  • John Miller, Roanoke A.T. Club (Alternate) 
  • Doug Atwater, Outdoor Club at Virginia Tech (Representative)  
  • Dr. James Tanko, Outdoor Club at Virginia Tech (Alternate) 
  • Jim Houck, Piedmont A.T. Hikers (Primary) 
  • Steve Yonts, Piedmont A.T. Hikers (Alternate) 
  • Bill Hurlebaus, Mount Rogers A.T. Club (Primary) 
  • Terry Walker, Mount Rogers A.T. Club (Alternate)

Deep South Committee

  • RPC Chair: Don Hicks, Georgia Appalachian Trail Club (Primary)
  • RPC Representative to Stewardship Council: Rebekah Young, Smoky Mountains Hiking Club
  • Keith Moses, Georgia Appalachian Trail Club (Alternate)
  • San Ho Choi, Nantahala Hiking Club (Representative)  
  • Olga Pader, Nantahala Hiking Club (Alternate)
  • Franklin LaFond, Smoky Mountains Hiking Club (Primary)
  • George Ritter, Smoky Mountains Hiking Club (Alternate)
  • Jim Reel, Carolina Mountain Club (Alternate)
  • Steve Perri, Tennessee Eastman Hiking and Canoeing Club (Primary)
  • Steve Wilson, Tennessee Eastman Hiking and Canoeing Club (Alternate)

​cooperative management system